Welcome. How may we serve you?


Brian Jenkins Honored as AFCA Region 2 Coach of the Year


Brian Jenkins

WACO, Texas - After leading  Bethune-Cookman University  to a share of the 2010 Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference Championship and a berth in the NCAA Playoffs, head coach Brian Jenkins has been selected as the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) Football Championship Subdivision (FCS) Region 2 Coach of the Year.

The AFCA National Coach of the Year award will be presented at the organization’s nation convention on Jan. 11 in Dallas.

In his first season, Jenkins guided the Wildcats to a 10-2 record and a ranking as high as seventh in the national polls. B-CU’s 10-0 start was the best in school history and the team set single-season records for total points and total yards.

Other regional winners include Jimmye Laycock, College of William & Mary; Tony Samuel, Southeast Missouri State University;  Trent Miles, Indiana State University and J.C. Harper, Stephen F. Austin State University.

Office of Public Relations

Dan Ryan PH: 386-481-2278

About Bethune-Cookman University

Founded in 1904 by Mary McLeod Bethune, Bethune-Cookman University (B-CU) today sustains her legacy of faith, scholarship and service through its relationship with the United Methodist Church and its commitment to academic excellence and civic engagement. B-CU offers baccalaureate degrees in 37 majors through six academic schools – Arts & Humanities; Business; Education; Nursing; Science, Engineering and Mathematics; and Social Sciences – and maintains intercollegiate athletic programs and instrumental and choral groups that have achieved national recognition. Located in Daytona Beach, B-CU is one of three private historically black colleges in the state of Florida. The institution boasts a diverse and international faculty and student body of more than 3,400.

The latest news from wildcat country...

Bethune-Cookman University Raised $2.53M at Tuesday night's Award Gala

Bethune-Cookman University hosted nearly 500 guests at its annual Mary McLeod Bethune Awards Gala on Tonight at the Daytona International Speedway 500 Club (1801 W International Speedway Blvd, Daytona Beach, FL 32114). The annual affair honored six awardees who have contributed to the livelihood of the community and the University.


Search Our Site

Get In Touch

Call Us
(386) 481-2000
Visit Us

640 Dr. Mary McLeod Bethune Boulevard
Daytona Beach, FL 32114View Map